360pi


PoPov
June 2, 2009, 1:58 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I found out the friendliest guy in Cape Towns name. You have read a previous post about the chap here I got to the bottom of who my good buddy the car gaurd dude is. What I did was ask the security dude around the Wembly Square building when I was collecting from Knead and car guard dude was not there. Turns out the guys name is Popov. I saw him the next day when I was there and was so happy I could call him by his name.

His smile was as heartfelt as always and I began chatting to him about why he was not there the last time I came to collect from Knead. It turns out the world champion stutterer from the DRC was actually getting some papers in order to be able to visit a hospital to have them see him about his stuttering. As PoPov (get used to this name for this post as now that I know it I will surely way over use it) relaxed he was able to communicate with me a little better and it was a good lesson for me to as I have the very irritating inclination to help him finish his sentences. I restrained myself and let him get on at his own pace Рslowly.  Well it turns out that he asked his mother (a phone call to the DRC from a call box and not a few R5 coins) when he began stuttering. Only at about age 9.

Pi: “Nine!” I exclaimed “What happened that made you start with a speech impediment so late PoPov?”

PP “W w w w well it w w w w was …. I d d d don dd d d dd don d d d don’t remember.” He eventually got out the glorious man.

Then he just chats along for about two sentences with no problem at all. It was so strange to witness. His mother said that he only started to speak wit the stutter when he spent time with a friend who had a huge stutter but PoPov remembers nothing before the age of about 10 and he suspects something traumatic occurred. He is keen to go and see a Doctor and seems hopeful that there is a chance he may be able to curtail and perhaps even cure the debilitation.

How extraordinary. I say goodbye and he puts his hands together as the Christians do in prayer and the Chinese do in salutations and says, as always: “I give thanks”

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

